Faulty Reviews has Moved

vlcsnap-2014-04-06-12h33m23s237

Yes, it has been a long time. Years, in fact. I’ve decided to get back into this whole blogging habit, but I am now posting at Jaesthetics! I also post frequently on Twitter – @jaehaerys48. I hope to see you around!

Posted in Thoughts, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Spring 2014 Preview & Blog News

vlcsnap-2014-03-30-02h35m59s236

It certainly has been quite a while since I last posted on this blog, as one can tell. Unfortunately, a multitude of things came up in the real world that have caused me to fall behind in several anime and have prevented me from updating Faulty Reviews. However, now that things have settled down, I have had the time to catch up again with the winter anime and prepare a preview for the upcoming spring season. I’ll be posting “what I missed” bits for the various winter series I had been reviewing during the next couple of days. Until then, these are the shows that I am looking forward to this coming spring.

vlcsnap-2014-03-30-01h42m47s92 copy

Isshuukan Friends – One Week Friends – 一週間フレンズ。

Studio: Brains Base | Genre: Romance | Premiere: 4/6

Premise: Kaori Fujimiya is always alone because all of her happy memories, including time spent with her friends, disappear every Monday. Deciding that he wants to be friends with her anyway, Yuuki Hase tries to get close to Kaori each week, wishing that she would one day call him “a friend.”

Studio Brains Base and romance is a good combination, and out of the three Brains Base series coming out this season – Isshuukan Friends, Bokura wa Minna Kawaisou, and the otome game adaptation Kamigami no Asobi – Isshuukan Friends looks by far to be the most promising. Yeah, the premise sounds like the Hollywood film 50 First Dates, but having a week of relationship development instead of a day should allow for a better story, and Isshuukan Friends seems to be the sort of character story that actually focuses on just that – relationship development – as opposed to pure comedy or fanservice. I also find myself liking the art style, which is a bit reminiscent of this season’s Sakura Trick.

PV: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TZvQtV2ijHM

Fansubbing Groups: Kaylith Subs

vlcsnap-2014-03-30-01h24m17s240 copy

Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei – The Irregular at Magic High School – 魔法科高校の劣等生

Continue reading

Posted in Faulty Lists | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Busy Week

I haven’t been able to post much this week, as I have been quite busy. As a result, look forward to a slew of new reviews coming out on the weekend!

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Nisekoi – 05

Swimsuits and keys.

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 12.29.45 PM

Another week, another Nisekoi, except this time it’s swimsuit time. This is, after all, a high-school romcom, and every high-school romcom needs a swimsuit episode, whether it is at the beach or the pool. However, this fifth episode of Nisekoi, appropriately titled “Swimming”, manages to be more than just fanservice. Don’t get me wrong, “Swimming” had more fanservice than Nisekoi episodes one through four combined, but it also contained some vital plot development that will undoubtably have important ramifications in future episodes. Well, as important as plot development gets in Nisekoi, at least.

Continue reading

Posted in Episode Reviews, Nisekoi, Winter 2014 | Leave a comment

Nisekoi 2nd character popularity poll results released!

E4KvTrf

And the winner is….. Onodera Kosaki!

Full Results:

Continue reading

Posted in Nisekoi, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Toaru Hikūshi e no Koiuta – 05

My Vengeful Wind Priestess Can’t Be This Cute.

Screen Shot 2014-02-03 at 11.00.53 AM

I think that it is safe to say that I haven’t seen a story featuring a couple with a darker past than Toaru Hikūshi e no Koiuta’s Claire Cruz and Karl La Hire in quite some time. This week saw another Toaru Hikūshi episode that mixes dark character flashbacks with more typical slice-of-life/military training action, except this time those flashbacks were from the perspective of Claire Cruze, aka Nina Viento, the girl who has fallen in love with the boy whose parents were killed in in the coup d’etat that she symbolized. Toaru Hikūshi certainly hasn’t been afraid of dumping large amounts of backstory on the viewers in the form of flashbacks, and while the storytelling technique might seem quite simple, it is definitely effective at creating sympathy for the show’s characters.

Continue reading

Posted in Episode Reviews, Toaru Hikuushi e no Koiuta, Winter 2014 | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Toaru Hikūshi e no Koiuta – 01-04

Sky politik.

Screen Shot 2014-01-20 at 2.46.17 PM

Even before the season began, I had high hopes for Toaru Hikūshi e no Koiuta (The Pilot’s Love Song). Mainly because I enjoyed the movie Toaru Hikūshi e no Tsuioku (The Princess and the Pilot), which is based on an LN by the same author as this series (Inumura Koroku) and set in the same universe, but also simply because Toaru Hikūshi is quite unlike anything else airing this season. I’m glad to report that the series has lived up to my expectations so far by delivering a solid mix of romance, politics, and aerial adventure.

Continue reading

Posted in Episode Reviews, Toaru Hikuushi e no Koiuta, Winter 2014 | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment